Fasti_Praenestini_Massimo_n3

Archive Calendar

  • First Day of Classes!
    Mon, August 24, 201512:00 AM

    Welcome back!

  • Coffee Hour
    Fri, September 4, 20152:30 PM - 3:30 PM

    Cookies, coffee, and awesome company! Coffee Hour begins at 2:30pm in the Carnegie Lounge.


  • Student Opening Party
    Tue, September 8, 20156:00 PM

    Lissa & Cy Wagner Gallery, Hosted by the CAC
    Join us for a toga party to inaugurate the opening of Immortales: The Hall of Emperors of the Capitoline Museums, Rome! Students are encouraged to wear a toga to the party, where they can expect to enjoy a DJ, food, and a photo booth. Following the party, OU Campus Activities Council will host a concert on the museum’s lawn. The party and concert are free and exclusively for college students. This event is sponsored in part by OU Housing & Food Services.


  • Constitution Day
    Thu, September 17, 20154:30 PM

    Constitution Day talk by Andrew J. O’Shaughnessy, University of Virginia and Monticello, “The Men Who Lost America.”


  • Family Day
    Sun, September 20, 20151:00 PM - 4:00 PM

    Dee Dee and Jon R. Stuart Classroom
    Experience centuries of Roman history in Immortales: The Hall of Emperors of the Capitoline Museums, Rome.


  • Gallery Talk
    Tue, September 22, 201512:30 PM

    Lissa & Cy Wagner Gallery
    Francesca Giani, Exhibition Curator, OU Art History Graduate Student
    Giani will lead a walking tour of Immortales: The Hall of Emperors of the Capitoline Museums, Rome.

  • IACH Guest Speaker-Tracy Meares
    Thu, October 1, 20155:00 PM

    Meacham Auditorium

    Tracey Meares of Yale Law School, “Policing in America.”

  • Coffee Hour
    Fri, October 2, 20152:30 PM

    Cookies, coffee, and awesome company! Coffee Hour begins at 2:30pm in the Carnegie Lounge.

  • AIA Lecture
    Tue, October 13, 201512:00 AM

    AIA Lecture, “The Burgaz Harbors Project: Shifting Centers of Maritime Activity in the Eastern Mediterranean,” by Elizabeth S. Greene. Dale Hall RM 206 at 7:30pm.

  • Dr. Askeland Guest Lecture
    Wed, October 14, 20154:00 PM

    The Gospel of Jesus' Wife and the Art of Modern Forgery.

    4:00pm on Wednesday, October 14th in PHSC RM 201

    Dr. Askeland is an award-winning papyrologist, Copticist, and biblical scholar. He is also famous as having conclusively identified the papyrus call the "Gospel of Jesus' Wife" as a forgery. He will be speaking about that identification but also, more broadly, about the methods and motivations of the modern forgers of ancient documents. Dr. Askeland will take questions and be available for discussion following his lecture.

  • Gallery Symposium
    Thu, October 22, 20151:30 PM - 5:00 PM

    Presented in conjunction with the exhibition Immortales: The Hall of Emperors of the Capitoline Museums, Rome, this symposium explores the history and art history of imperial Rome. Speakers include Susan B. Matheson, the Molly and Walter Bareiss Curator of Ancient Art at the Yale University Art Gallery; Dr. Noel Lenski, Professor of Classics and History at Yale University; and Dr. Christopher Celenza, Co-director of the Singleton Center and Charles Homer Haskins Professor of Classics and German and Romance Languages and Literatures at Johns Hopkins University. The symposium is a joint organization of the University of Oklahoma Office of the Provost; the Department of Classics and Letters; the Department of Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics; and the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art.

  • Coffee Hour
    Fri, November 6, 20152:30 PM

    Cookies, coffee, and awesome company! Coffee Hour begins at 2:30pm in the Carnegie Lounge.



  • Last day of finals!
    Fri, December 18, 201512:00 AM

  • First Day of Intersession
    Mon, December 21, 201512:00 AM

    Intersession runs from Dec. 18th-Jan. 15th.

  • First Day of Classes
    Tue, January 19, 201612:00 AM

  • Scholarship Deadline
    Mon, February 1, 201612:00 AM

    Fill out your scholarship application at http://www.ou.edu/scholarships/!

  • Eta Sigma Phi Coffee Hour
    Wed, February 10, 20162:00 PM

    Coffee Hour hosted by Eta Sigma Phi! Dr. Scott Johnson will be the guest speaker. Come at 2pm to enjoy cookies and conversation!

  • CAS Student Networking Reception
    Wed, February 17, 20164:30 PM - 6:00 PM

    The CAS Student Networking Reception will again be held after the Career Fair on Wednesday, February 17 from 4:30-6:00 pm in the Oklahoma Memorial Union.

    We have some great employers signed up to recruit for both technical and non-technical positions: Phillips 66, CIA, U.S. Department of State, Cintas, AT&T, Dell, Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, CSAA Insurance, E&J Gallo, Teach for America, Union Pacific Railroad, Paycom, TEKsystems, OK Department of Human Services, Northwestern Mutual and more!

    Here is the link to register!

  • Final Day to Apply for Graduation
    Tue, March 1, 201612:00 AM

    Final day to apply for spring 2016 graduation! Log into Ozone and find the application under the Academics tab.

  • Graduation Gear-Up
    Tue, March 8, 201612:00 AM

    Get your graduation gear this week!

  • Graduation Gear-Up
    Wed, March 9, 201612:00 AM

    Get your graduation gear this week!

  • Eta Sigma Phi Coffee Hour
    Wed, March 9, 20162:00 PM

  • Graduation Gear-Up
    Thu, March 10, 201612:00 AM

    Get your graduation gear this week!

  • Graduation Gear-Up
    Fri, March 11, 201612:00 AM

    Get your graduation gear this week!

  • Spring Break
    Sat, March 12, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Sun, March 13, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Mon, March 14, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Tue, March 15, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Wed, March 16, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Thu, March 17, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Fri, March 18, 201612:00 AM

  • Spring Break
    Sat, March 19, 201612:00 AM

  • End-of-the-Year Reception
    Wed, April 27, 20163:00 PM - 5:00 PM

    Join us in the Scholars Room of the Union this Wednesday to celebrate the end of the school year!

  • First Day of School!
    Mon, August 22, 201612:00 AM
  • Coffee Outreach
    Wed, September 14, 201610:30 AM - 12:30 PM

    Join us in our first coffee outreach of the year! Come grab some cookies and coffee while welcoming new students to our department!

  • Guest Lecture- Charles M. Stang (Harvard)
    Mon, September 19, 20165:00 PM

    The Department of Classics and Letters presents an OU Presidential Dream Course lecture series hosted by Dr. Scott Johnson. Join us for "The Apostle Thomas and the Origins of Syrian Christianity" by Charles M. Stang (Harvard). Bizzell Memorial Library Community Room LL118.