OU Department of English Faculty





David Anderson

Associate Professor

Interests: Renaissance drama and poetry; literature and religion.

dkanderson@ou.edu


Rilla Askew

Assistant Professor

Interests: Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Oklahoma History

raskew@ou.edu


Amit R. Baishya
Assistant Professor

Interests: 
Postcolonial literature; cultural studies; film.

arbaishya1@ou.edu


Eve Tavor Bannet
Professor of Women's and Gender Studies
George Lynn Cross Professor

Interests: The long eighteenth century; trans-Atlantic studies; British
and American literature; women; letters; history of reading; secret writing.

etbannet@ou.edu



Joyce Coleman
Rudolph C. Bambas Professor of Medieval English Literature & Culture
Director, University of Oklahoma Center for Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Interests: Medieval literary reception, performance, and patronage;
"the iconography of the book" in medieval manuscripts.

joyce.coleman@ou.edu


Daniel Cottom 
Professor and David A. Burr Chair of Letters

Interests: Nineteenth-century English literature; cultural studies; literary and cultural theory.

dacottom@ou.edu


Robert Con Davis-Undiano
Professor of English and Neustadt Professor
Executive Director of World Literature Today

Interests: American studies; Chicano studies; cultural studies; literary and cultural theory.

rcdavis@ou.edu



Bill Endres
Assistant Professor

Interests: Digital Humanities, medieval manuscripts, and visual rhetoric.

bill.endres@ou.edu



Daniela Garofalo
Professor
Chair, English Department

Interests: British Romanticism; Victorian literature; Gender Studies; Lacanian theory.

dg@ou.edu





Kenneth Hodges
Professor

Interests: Medieval literature and culture; Geoffrey Chaucer; Sir Thomas Malory; Edmund Spenser.

klhodges@ou.edu


Honorée Fanonne Jeffers
Professor

Interests: Poetry Writing (Creative), Short Fiction Writing (Creative), Literary Criticism, Early African American Poetry, Contemporary African American Poetry, Blues Poetics.

hfjeffers@ou.edu



Catherine A. John
Associate Professor

Interests: Afro-Caribbean literature and culture; African-American literature and culture.

cjohn@ou.edu


Susan Kates
Professor

Interests: Composition, rhetoric, and literacy; creative writing.

skates@ou.edu


Rita Keresztesi
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies in English

Interests: Afro-Caribbean literature and culture; American modernism; African-American literature.

ritak@ou.edu

William C. Kurlinkus 
Assistant Professor

Interests: New media; rhetoric; technical communication; design.

wkurlinkus@ou.edu


Vincent B. Leitch 
Professor
George Lynn Cross Research Professor
Paul and Carol Daube Sutton Chair in English

Interests: Literary criticism and theory; cultural studies; poetry and poetics.

vbleitch@ou.edu


William Henry McDonald
Associate Professor

Interests: Nineteenth-century American literature; twentieth-century American literature; literary theory

hmcdonald@ou.edu



Roxanne Mountford
Professor
Director, Composition, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies Program
Director, First-Year Composition

Interests: Rhetorical history, theory, and criticism; writing; women’s rhetoric; African American rhetoric; rhetorical education; religious rhetoric; environmental rhetoric; institutional history.

mountford@ou.edu



Joshua B. Nelson
Associate Professor

Interests: American Indian and Indigenous literature, film, and media; Cherokee culture; identity theory; agency; anarchism; pragmatism.

joshuabnelson@ou.edu


Su Fang Ng 
Associate Professor

Interests: Early modern English and comparative literatures; kingship and political thought; colonialism and empire; early modern travel literature; early modern women writers; Shakespeare; Milton; epic; postcolonial literature.

ngsf@ou.edu



Seth Perlow 
Assistant Professor

Interests: Twentieth-century and contemporary American literature; postmodern fiction; poetry and poetics; media theory and technological history; aesthetics and phenomenology; queer theory.

perlow@ou.edu



Daniel Joseph Ransom 
Professor
Director, Variorum Chaucer Project

Interests: Medieval literature; the history of English; Chaucer.

djransom@ou.edu


Gabriela Raquel Rios

Assistant Professor

Interests: rhetoric; writing studies; multimodal composition; literacy; Indigenous studies; Chicanx & Latinx studies; materiality; decolonial and postcolonial theories





 

Ronald Schleifer 
George Lynn Cross Research Professor
Adjunct Professor in Medicine

Interests: Twentieth-century literature; literature and medicine; critical theory.

schleifer@ou.edu



Jonathan Stalling 
Professor

Interests: Literary and cultural theory; twentieth-century American poetry; East-West poetics; Buddhism; Beat literature; trans-Pacific literature and criticism.

stalling@ou.edu


Sandra L. Tarabochia 
Assistant Professor

Interests: Writing program administration; writing pedagogy; writing across the curriculum/writing in the disciplines; cross-curricular literacy learning; cross-disciplinary collaboration.

sltarabochia@ou.edu



Alan Velie
Professor; David Ross Boyd Professor

Interests: 
Shakespeare; American Indian literature; poetry and poetics; the Bible as literature.

alanvelie@ou.edu


Kathleen E. Welch
Presidential Professor

Interests: 
Writing and literacy; classical rhetorical theory; twentieth-
century rhetoric and composition theory; current technology and literacy
studies; feminist theory; historicized rhetoric.

kwelch@ou.edu
 

Kimberly G. Wieser
Assistant Professor

Interests:
American Indian critical theories, literatures, and rhetorics; gender studies.

kroppolo@ou.edu

James Zeigler
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Twentieth-century American literature; literary theory; rhetoric.

jzeigler@ou.edu