Faculty

Jeanette R. Davidson, Ph.D., ACSW,                                                      
Director African and African-American Studies
Professor Social Work
Ph.D.  University of Texas – Arlington
M.S.S.W. University of Texas – Arlington
B.A.(Hons.) University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland
jrdavidson@ou.edu


 

Tiffany Barber
Adjunct Instructor African and African American Studies
M.A. University of Southern California
B.F.A. Fordham University
Tiffany.Barber-1@ou.edu


 

 

 

 

 

 Loretta E. Bass, Ph.D.
Associate Professor Sociology
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
M.A. University of Connecticut
B.A.  University of Kansas
lbass@ou.edu


 

 

 

 

 

 Shannon Bert, Ph.D
Associate Professor Human Relations
Ph.D. University of Notre Dame
B.A.   University of Notre Dame
bert@ou.edu


 

 

 

 

 

Renea L. Butler-King, Doctoral candidate
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
M.S.W. The University of Oklahoma
B.S.W. The University of Oklahoma
rlbutler-king@ou.edu


 

 

 

 

 

 

 Meta G, Carstarphen, Ph.D.
Associate Dean Gaylord College of Journalism & Mass Communication
Ph.D Texas Woman's University
M.A. Texas Woman's University
B.A. Temple University
mcarstarphen@ou.edu


 

 Byron Coleman, M.Div.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
M.Div. Eastern Baptist Theological Seminary
B.A. Morehouse College
amos.b.coleman-1@ou.edu



Sharri L. Coleman, D.P.M.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
D.P.M. Temple University School of Podiatric Medicine
B.S. Spelman College
slcoleman@ou.edu


T. Elon Dancy Ph.D.
Assistant Professor Educational Leadership & Policy Studies
Ph.D. Louisiana State University
tedancy@ou.edu

 

 

Lt. Col. (Ret) Randy J. Garibay, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
Athletics Department Academic Counselor
Webster University M.A.
Utah State University B.S.
U.S. Army Command and General Staff College
U.S. Army Military History Instructor Course
rjgaribay@ou.edu

 

 

 

Greg A. Graham, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor African & African American Studies
Ph.D. Temple University 2012
M.A. Temple University 2006
M. Sc. University of the West Indies 2000
B.A. University of the West Indies 1998

gregagraham@ou.edu

 

 

Melvin Hall, J.D.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
J.D. University of Oklahoma
B.A. Langston
mhall@riggsabney.com

Karlos Hill 

Karlos k. Hill, PhD
Associate  Professor, African and African American Studies
Ph.D. University of Illinois
B.A. Macalester College
H.A. Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts
Karlos.Hill@ou.edu 

 

 

 

 

 

Catherine A. John, Ph.D.
Associate Professor English
Ph.D. University of California-Santa Cruz
cjohn@ou.edu

 

 

 

Momodu A. Kabba, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
Ph.D. The University of Oklahoma
M. Ed. The University of Oklahoma
B.A. Southwestern College
mahmedkabba@aol.com

 



 

 Ben G. Keppel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor History
Ph.D. UCLA
M.A. UCLA
B.A. University of California-Davis
bkeppel@ou.edu

 

 

 

Devale J. Long, M.S.W
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
M.S.W The University of Oklahoma
B.S.W The University of Oklahoma

djlong7htc@gmail.com

 

 

 

 Ambassador Tibor Nagy, M.A.
Former Ambassador to Ethiopia
Vice Provost Texas Tech University
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
M.S. George Washington University
B.A.Texas Tech University
tibor.nagy@ttu.edu

 

 

 Myron Pope, Ed.D.
Vice President Enrollment Management University of Central Oklahoma
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
Ed.D. The University of Alabama
M.A. The University of Alabama
B.A. The University of Alabama
mpope5@ucok.edu

 

Bala Saho, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor History Department
Ph.D. Michigan State
MA University of Illinois
Bsaho1@ou.edu

 

 

Sohail Shehada, M.A.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
Assistant Professor, School of Art
Sohail.H.Shehada-2@ou.edu

 


Damario D. Solomon-Simmons, J.D.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
J.D. The University of Oklahoma
B.A.The University of Oklahoma

  

 

 

 

 

 


Kelvin White, Ph.D

Associate Professor & CAS Associate Dean
for Faculty Development and Community
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
MA University of California, Los Angeles
kwhite@ou.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Tammara D. Williams-Dias, M.Ed., M.Sc.
Adjunct Instructor African and African-American Studies
Ph.D. Candidate Educational Psychology
M.Ed. The University of Central Oklahoma
M.Sc. Langston University
B.A. The University of Oklahoma
twilliamsdias@ou.edu

 


 

Melissa Frey, Ph.D
Associate Professor, Educational Psychology
Ph.D The University of Nebraska
M.Sc. The University of Nebraska
B.S. Clarkson College of Nursing
Melissa.Frey-1@ou.edu

 

Staff

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mrs. Ruth Gomez

Program Administrative Assistant

(405) 325-2327

rsgomez@ou.edu