About

This section covers the role of first-year composition, our administrative structure, and how to contact us

For more information about our courses, please visit our Courses page.

Our Role

To help you better understand how the Office of First-Year Composition serves your academic life, here's a list summarizing our role:

  • Prepare instructors to successfully teach course and unit objectives
  • Design policies to support instructors and students
  • Mediate disputes between instructors and FYC students
  • Support students and instructors during any grade appeals for FYC unit projects
  • Provide a safe environment for you to share concerns about your FYC classes or instructors
  • Answer questions about FYC policies or procedures
  • Have an optimistic view of students and instructors
  • Check fyc@ou.edu regularly and keep office hours from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. at Cate 2, Room 427

Return to top of page.  

Our Administrative Structure

The Office of First-Year Composition is directed by Dr. Roxanne MountfordDr. William Kurlinkus directs Technical Writing and Communication. 

Dr. Amanda Klinger serves as Associate Director. Matthew Jacobson, our Senior Assistant Director, oversees Assistant Directors Kasey Woody (former Senior Assistant Director) and Jason Opheim.

Our office manager is Sara Knight.

Return to top of page. 

Contact Us

The Office of First-Year Composition is open Monday through Friday from 8 A.M. to 4 P.M. at 316 Cate Center Drive, Cate Center 2, Room 426.  

Office of First-Year Composition
Cate 2, Rooms 425 - 428
(405) 325-5927
fyc@ou.edu

Director of First-Year Composition
Dr. Roxanne Mountford
Cate 2, Room 425
(405) 325-7554
mountford@ou.edu

Director of Technical Writing and Communication
Dr. William Kurlinkus
Cate 2, Room 338
wkurlinkus@gmail.com

Associate Director of First-Year Composition
Dr. Amanda Klinger
Cate 2, Room 428
amanda.klinger@ou.edu

Senior Assistant Director of First-Year Composition
Matthew Jacobson
Cate 2, Room 426
(405) 325-5927
mjacobson@ou.edu


Assistant Directors of First-Year Composition
Kasey Woody
Cate 2, Room 427
(405) 325-5927
kwoody@ou.edu


Jason Opheim
Cate 2, Room 426
(405) 325-5927
jasonopheim@ou.edu


Office Manager
Sara Knight
Cate 2, Room 427
(405) 325-6254
sara.knight@ou.edu


Return to top of page.  

OU Campus