MED/REN FACULTY


 Architecture Division, College of Architecture 


 Catherine Barrett  
Assistant Professor of Architecture

Interests: Urbanism and architecture of the 12th through 14th centuries in Western Europe.

cjbarrett@ou.edu


 

School of Art & Art History 

 


 Rozmeri Basic
Professor; Associate Dean

Interests: 
Inter-disciplinary and cross-cultural issues in Carolingian, Byzantine, and post-Byzantine traditions.

rozmeri@ou.edu
Susan Caldwell
Professor Emerita  

Interests:
Medieval Spanish architecture; medieval and Renaissance art.

shcaldwell@ou.edu
Allison Palmer 
 
Associate Professor

Interests:
Early Italian Renaissance; Italian Baroque architecture; modern architecture.

apalmer@ou.edu

Classics & Letters Department, College of Arts & Sciences


Sara Coodin
Assistant Professor

Interests:
Shakespearean drama and virtue ethics.

coodin@ou.edu
 

Kyle Harper
Interim Provost
Director, Institute for the American Constitutional Heritage

Interests:
The social and economic history of the period spanning the Roman Empire and the early Middle Ages.

kyleharper@ou.edu

Samuel J. Huskey
 
Joseph Paxton Presidential Professor

Interests:
Paleography, manuscript traditions, and the transmission of classical literature; Boccaccio's Latin poetry and the late medieval reception of Lucan.

huskey@ou.edu

English Department, College of Arts & Sciences 



David Anderson 
Associate Professor

Interests:
The poetry and drama of the English Renaissance, particularly the relationship between literature and religion.

dkanderson@ou.edu
Joyce Coleman
Rudolph C. Bambas Professor of Medieval English Literature and Culture
Director, University of Oklahoma Center for Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Interests:
Medieval literary reception, performance, and patronage; "the iconography of the book" in medieval manuscripts.

joyce.coleman@ou.edu

Bill Endres
Assistant Professor

Interests: 
Early medieval manuscripts; digital humanities.

bill.endres@ou.edu

Kenneth Hodges
Professor

Interests:
Late medieval and early modern chivalry.

klhodges@ou.edu
Su Fang Ng
Associate Professor

Interests: Early modern literature with a secondary interest in postcolonial studies, particularly Southeast Asian responses to Japanese imperialism.

ngsf@ou.edu
 

Daniel Ransom
Associate Professor; Director of the Variorum Chaucer

Interests: Chaucer; Dante; Old and Middle English literature; English historical linguistics.

djransom@ou.edu
Jim Yoch 
Professor Emeritus

Interests: Shakespeare; Italian Renaissance drama; movies 1930-1942; and connections between literature and landscape.

jyoch@ou.edu


History Department, College of Arts & Sciences 




James S. Hart, Jr.  
Professor; Hudson Family Chair of History

Interests: 
Tudor-Stuart England, Ireland.

jshart@ou.edu


D Gershon Lewental 
Schusterman Visiting Assistant Professor

Interests: Early Islam, particularly the Arab-Muslim conquests; Iranian history; the Baha’i faith; Israeli history.

lewental@ou.edu
 

Roberta Magnusson
Associate Professor

Interests:
Medieval Europe, particularly Italy; the origins and development of public services in medieval English cities.

rmagnusson@ou.edu


 Shmuel Shepkaru 
Associate Professor

Interests: Late antique and medieval Jewish history; Hebrew; the history of heaven and hell.

shepkaru@ou.edu
 

Norman Stillman
Professor Emeritus

Interests: Medieval and modern Jewish and Islamic history and culture.

nstillman@ou.edu

 

Jane Wickersham  
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Renaissance Italian history, particularly the Italian Inquisition.

jwickersham@ou.edu



History of Science Department, College of Arts & Sciences



Peter Barker
Professor

Interests:
History and historiography of the Scientific Revolution; 19th- and 20th-century physical science and psychology; philosophy of science.

barkerp@ou.edu
 Kathleen Crowther 
Associate Professor

Interests: Early modern science and medicine; body and gender in early modern Europe; science and religion.

 kcrowther@ou.edu
 

Steven J. Livesey
Brian E. and Sandra O'Brien Presidential Professor; Department Chair

Interests: Medieval science; history of early scientific methodologies; science in medieval universities; manuscript studies.

slivesey@ou.edu
 

Kerry Magruder  
Curator, History of Science Collections

Interests: 17th- and 18th-century theories of the Earth; early geology, cosmology, visual representation; history of the book; science and religion.

kmagruder@ou.edu
 

Rienk Vermij
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Cartesian natural philosophy; Copernicanism; early modern meteorology; Enlightenment, science and religion; science in the Netherlands.

rienk.vermij@ou.edu

Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Department, College of Arts & Sciences 



Luis Cortest
Professor, Spanish

Interests: 
Spanish religious writers of the 16th century; medieval Spanish literature; the history of Spanish scholasticism and natural-law theory.

lcortest@ou.edu
A. Robert Lauer 
Professor, Spanish

Interests:
Golden Age drama, poetry, and prose; film studies.

arlauer@ou.edu
 

Joseph M. Sullivan
Associate Professor, German

Interests: Arthurian literature; medieval Germanic literature; modern and popular representations of the Middle Ages.

jsullivan@ou.edu
Logan E. Whalen
Professor, French

Interests:
Medieval French literature; Arthurian texts; Chrétien de Troyes, Marie de France.

lwhalen@ou.edu

Musicology Department, School of Music 




Eugene Enrico 
Ruth Verne David Reaugh Professor of Music
Director, Collegium Musicum

Interests:
Renaissance and Baroque music.

ejenrico@ou.edu


Jennifer Saltzstein
Associate Professor

Interests: The music literature of medieval France, particularly Adam de la Halle.

jennifersaltzstein@ou.edu


Philosophy Department, College of Arts & Sciences


 

Neal Judisch
Assistant Professor

Interests: Metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophical theology

neal.judisch@ou.edu


Religious Studies Program, College of Arts & Sciences



  
 Rangar H. Cline 
Assistant Professor

Interests: 
The relationship between Greek and Roman religions, early Christianity, and Judaism in the Roman world; the economics of pilgrimage.

rangar.cline@ou.edu

David Vishanoff 
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Islamic thought and legal theory; interactions between religious communities; modern Qur’anic hermeneutics.

vishanoff@ou.edu