MED/REN FACULTY


Art History, School of Visual Arts


Rozmeri Basic
Professor; Associate Dean

Interests: 
Inter-disciplinary and cross-cultural issues in Carolingian, Byzantine, and post-Byzantine traditions.

rozmeri@ou.edu
Susan Caldwell
Professor Emerita
David Ross Boyd Professor

Interests: Medieval Spanish architecture; medieval and Renaissance art.

shcaldwell@ou.edu
Allison Palmer 
Associate Professor

Interests:
Early Italian Renaissance; Italian Baroque architecture; modern architecture.

apalmer@ou.edu

Classics & Letters Department, College of Arts & Sciences


Sara Coodin
Assistant Professor

Interests:
Shakespearean drama and virtue ethics.

coodin@ou.edu
Kyle Harper picture

Kyle Harper
Professor
Senior Vice President and Provost

Interests:
The social and economic history of the period spanning the Roman Empire and the early Middle Ages.

Meet the Provost.

Samuel J. Huskey 
Joseph Paxton Presidential Professor

Interests:
Paleography, manuscript traditions, and the transmission of classical literature; Boccaccio's Latin poetry and the late medieval reception of Lucan.

huskey@ou.edu

Scott Johnson
Assistant Professor

Interests:
Greek literature in late antiquity; multilingualism in the late antique East; travel, pilgrimage, cartography; Syriac language and literature.

sfj@ou.edu


English Department, College of Arts & Sciences 


David Anderson 
Associate Professor

Interests:
The poetry and drama of the English Renaissance, particularly the relationship between literature and religion.

dkanderson@ou.edu
Joyce Coleman
Rudolph C. Bambas Professor of Medieval English Literature and Culture
Director, University of Oklahoma Center for Medieval & Renaissance Studies

Interests:
Medieval literary reception, performance, and patronage; "the iconography of the book" in medieval manuscripts.

joyce.coleman@ou.edu

Bill Endres
Assistant Professor

Interests: 
Early medieval manuscripts; digital humanities.

bill.endres@ou.edu


Daniel Ransom
Professor; Director of the Variorum Chaucer

Interests: Chaucer; Dante; Old and Middle English literature; English historical linguistics.

djransom@ou.edu

History Department, College of Arts & Sciences 



James S. Hart, Jr.  
Professor; Hudson Family Chair of History

Interests: 
Tudor-Stuart England, Ireland.

jshart@ou.edu
Lewental
D Gershon Lewental 
Schusterman Visiting Assistant Professor

Interests: Early Islam, particularly the Arab-Muslim conquests; Iranian history; the Baha’i faith; Israeli history.

lewental@ou.edu
Roberta Magnussun

Roberta Magnusson
Associate Professor

Interests:
Medieval Europe, particularly Italy; the origins and development of public services in medieval English cities.

rmagnusson@ou.edu


Shmuel Shepkaru 
Schusterman Professor of Jewish Intellectual and Religious History

Interests: Late antique and medieval Jewish history; Hebrew; the history of heaven and hell.

shepkaru@ou.edu
Jane Wickersham
Jane Wickersham  
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Renaissance Italian history, particularly the Italian Inquisition.

jwickersham@ou.edu



History of Science Department, College of Arts & Sciences


Peter Barker
Peter Barker
Professor

Interests:
History and historiography of the Scientific Revolution; 19th- and 20th-century physical science and psychology; philosophy of science.

barkerp@ou.edu
Kathleen Crowther 
Associate Professor

Interests: Early modern science and medicine; body and gender in early modern Europe; science and religion.

 kcrowther@ou.edu
Steve Livesey

Steven J. Livesey
Brian E. and Sandra O'Brien Presidential Professor; Department Chair

Interests: Medieval science; history of early scientific methodologies; science in medieval universities; manuscript studies.

slivesey@ou.edu
Kerry Magruder
Kerry Magruder  
Curator and John H. and Drusa B. Cable Chair of the History of Science Collections
Associate Professor of Bibliography
Associate Professor of the History of Science

Interests: 17th- and 18th-century theories of the Earth; early geology, cosmology, visual representation; history of the book; science and religion.

kmagruder@ou.edu


Rienk Vermij
Professor

Interests: 
Cartesian natural philosophy; Copernicanism; early modern meteorology; Enlightenment, science and religion; science in the Netherlands.

rienk.vermij@ou.edu

Modern Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics Department, College of Arts & Sciences 


Luis CortestLuis Cortest
Professor, Spanish

Interests: 
Spanish religious writers of the 16th century; medieval Spanish literature; the history of Spanish scholasticism and natural-law theory.

lcortest@ou.edu

Yael Lavender-Smith
Professor, Hebrew Studies

Interests: Uriel da Costa, a Jewish converso who lived in Amsterdam in the 17th century

ylavend@ou.edu
A. Robert Lauer 
Professor, Spanish

Interests:
Golden Age drama, poetry, and prose; film studies.

arlauer@ou.edu

Roberto Pesce 
Professor, Italian

Interests:
 

roberto.pesce@ou.edu
Joseph

Joseph M. Sullivan
Associate Professor, German

Interests: Arthurian literature; medieval Germanic literature; modern and popular representations of the Middle Ages.

jsullivan@ou.edu
Logan WhalenLogan E. Whalen
Professor, French

Interests:
Medieval French literature; Arthurian texts; Chrétien de Troyes, Marie de France.

lwhalen@ou.edu

Musicology Department, School of Music 




Eugene Enrico 
Ruth Verne David Reaugh Professor of Music
Director, Collegium Musicum

Interests:
Renaissance and Baroque music.

ejenrico@ou.edu


Jennifer Saltzstein
Associate Professor

Interests: The music literature of medieval France, particularly Adam de la Halle.

jennifersaltzstein@ou.edu

Philosophy Department, College of Arts & Sciences


 

Neal Judisch
Assistant Professor

Interests: Metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophical theology

neal.judisch@ou.edu


Religious Studies Program, College of Arts & Sciences




Ranger KlineRangar H. Cline 
Assistant Professor

Interests: 
The relationship between Greek and Roman religions, early Christianity, and Judaism in the Roman world; the economics of pilgrimage.

rangar.cline@ou.edu
David Vashenoff

David Vishanoff 
Associate Professor

Interests: 
Islamic thought and legal theory; interactions between religious communities; modern Qur’anic hermeneutics.

vishanoff@ou.edu


Women's and Gender Studies, College of Arts & Sciences



Andreea Marculescu
Lecturer

Interests: The history of psychiatry and narratives of mental illnesses in medieval and early-modern European literature, disability studies, history of witchcraft and demonology, affect studies and emotions.

andreea.marculescu@ou.edu