Instructor Workshops

Our professional development workshops are facilitated by our Renewable Term Faculty (RTF) and open to all graduate teaching assistants and instructors working for the Office of First-Year Composition. 

These workshops provide strategies for addressing classroom situations and teaching concerns.

The workshops for Spring 2017 follow below:

Date/TimeRoomWorkshop TitleFacilitator(s)
Wed., Feb. 8
2:30 PM
402
Getting the Most out of Class Discussions
Jason Lubinski
Thurs., Feb. 9
2:30 PM
223Getting the Most out of Class Discussions
Melissa Antonucci and David Kelly
Fri., Feb. 24
3:00 PM
223*Workshop with Andrea Lunsford*Roxanne Mountford
Mon., Mar. 6
3:00 PM
223Addressing Academic DishonestyKatie Shearer, Breea Clark, and William Spain
Tues., Mar. 7
3:00 PM
223Addressing Academic Dishonesty
Katie Shearer, Breea Clark, and William Spain
Mon., Apr. 3
2:30 PM
223Inclusive Teaching for Different Abilities and Learning StylesCheyenne Riggs
Tues., Apr. 4
4:00 PM
223Developing Online CoursesMia Martini
Thurs., Apr. 27
3:30 PM
223Troubleshooting Awkward Moments: A Round-Table Rhonda Kyncl and Molly Lehman
Fri., Apr. 28
1:30 PM
402Troubleshooting Awkward Moments: A Round-Table
Jason Lubinski and Annemarie Mulkey

Workshops Schedule for Fall 2016

Offering Feedback on Student Writing, Tues., Oct. 25 10:00 am in the Reading Room (223)

Facilitator: Molly Lehman

This workshop session will focus on giving feedback to student writers and address the following questions: What sorts of comments are best, and in what quantities? What are some ways to streamline the process of commenting? What are some of the pitfalls and how can we avoid them? How can we ensure that students actually read these comments we spend so much time on?

Teaching Creativity: Using the Tools of Storytelling in the Composition Classroom, Thurs., Oct. 27 3:00 pm in the Reading Room (223)

Facilitators: Eddie Malone and Karen Feiner

This workshop will address creativity and exploration in nonfiction essay writing with a focus on teaching the incorporation of description and detail into essays.